Dan Sindel – Fearless Radio Interview

18 11 2006

Feb 10, 2006 – Dan Sindel is named “February’s Spotlight Artist” by Fearless Radio and is interviewed by Sr. Member CinnamonGirl

This month’s spotlight artist is a very talented friend of mine from LA who recreates classical compositions such as John Philip Sousa’s Stars and Stripes Forever giving them a new lease through his unique interpretations…
on guitar.
– CinnamonGirl

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Dan Sindel’s renditions of the classical masters demonstrates his excellent mastery for the instrument and his passion for each classical piece. For example take his interpretation of
Mozart’s String Quartet No.1 k80-menuetto. It will leave you with the impression of what it would sound like if Mozart composed this piece for the electric guitar rather than violins, violas, etc. Or listen to his haunting version of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata for the crescendo of the bass guitar in the background brought to the foreground as the lead.This reviewer highly recommends his version of “Excerpts From Handel’s Messiah” which 500 individual guitar recordings were used to recreate three (3) significant pieces of this pastoral masterpiece. His interpretation of the Hallelujah Chorus with the detailed attention to each vocal part (solely done on different guitars) will leave you awestruck. Other recommendations include: Bach’s Fugue in G minor, Grieg’s Anitra’s Dance, and Vivaldi’s Four Seasons – The Spring (2005 DMusic Award winner in the Classical category).

What inspired you to recreate classical compositions with an electric guitar?
Really, it just sort of happened one day. I made an investment in a Pro Tools Rig and I was looking for a few quick projects to use as a guide to help me understand the technology and in my want to become proficient in multi tracking it seemed quite logical to try my hand at recreating some of the orchestral scores and piano books that were lying around.

How you would describe your music?
I call it electro-classical or rock-classical. To be quiet honest, I would not even know where to start as far as labeling this stuff??? LOL “Symphonic Guitars” perhaps…On my website
www.dansindel.us I did come up with a little bit of a description “Guitar Driven Classics”…

Being an independent artist in this genre, do you find it easy or hard to promote your music to other venues?
Seriously, at this point in the game I have not really done a whole lot as far as promo goes, most of my demo work is in “rough mix” status and it truly has taken a small life of its own via the internet.
Since the launch of my website last year, my demos have been downloaded well over 50,000 times worldwide (*11.16.06 as of this posting, the number has increased to almost 200,00) and my demo work has been receiving international acclaim, airplay and was voted first place in the 2005 DMusic Awards http://dsindel.dmusic.com in the classical category for my interpretation of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons – The Spring.Being encouraged by all these positive signs, starting last November I employed the skills of a professional engineer and I am proud to say that mixing and mastering has been completed on my latest Demo CD entitled: “Excerpts From Handel’s Messiah“…This is my 2006 demo release which is comprised of almost 500 individual guitar tracks (Electric, Acoustic, Nylon and 12 String) in an adventurous interpretation of George Frideric Handel’s most famous Oratorio “The Messiah”.As far as promotion goes, I did press 500 copies and distribute most of them amongst the music industry at the Winter NAMM show here in Anaheim, CA. It is my hopes that one day I would be able to license these tracks and have them placed in independent films/TV etc…

AreAre you concerned there may or not be an audience for this type of music?
Not really, to be honest this all started out as a hobby and just for the pure joy of being ale to make music and try and do something just a little bit different than what is considered “normal”…”This is very niche and so far I am still quite amazed that I have gotten this far with it all…” LOL

What would you say to those who wouldn’t consider your music as traditional classical interpretations of the masters?
”Take it at face value!” Understand that I am doing my best to treat the composition with as much reverence as I possibly can without taking to many liberties albeit using different instrumentation and modern guitar tones. Although I am certain there are “classical purists” out there that probably think I am a “musical terrorist”!

I’m sure many would like to know how many different guitars are used for your tracks.
That is hard to answer as each project is different in its own right.As far as the individual use of an instrument, some tracks use only one guitar (usually my 68’ SG) and some use up to 8 or 9. If the mood strikes or if I am really looking for unique sounds then I have a good collection of other guitars (Fender, Agile, Willy’s Custom Guitars and various Acoustic Instruments) to choose from. Pertaining to “track count” that is a different story altogether…I am not quite sure where the threshold of “overkill” is but most of my tracks on the average embody about 150 unique guitar tracks. ”The Stars and Stripes Forever” has about 360 tracks so it varies…

Recently, you attended NAMM. Could you give a brief synopsis of it?
WOW!
NAMM is just one of the most incredible experiences a musician could have. The entire Musical Instrument Industry is right there all under one roof. At every turn there are so many talented world class musicians that you can not help but be completely inspired (or on the other hand be totally discouraged…LOL) Not to mention all the latest products being unveiled, it is quite staggering to say the least!

What other types of music do you listen to when you’re not recording?
I listen to most everything. (Except Disco… LOL)I am quite fascinated with music from other cultures as well as the stuff I grew up with (Classical, Progressive rock, metal etc…)

What song or songs would you say defines your musical talent? And why?
That is a tough question; as far as my latest demo work is concerned I really try and find compositions that allow me to express myself musically and attempt to address various aspects of my playing…

Without being painted in a corner perhaps these are a few of my favorite demos that showcase a variety of influence.
·
Edvard Grieg – Anitra’s Dance
·
John Philip Sousa – The Stars and Stripes Forever
·
Benjamin Godard – Seconde Valse Brillante in Bb, Op. 56
.
Danny Boy [a.k.a. Londonderry Air]
· Beethoven – Moonlight Sonata
·
Vivaldi’s Four Seasons – The Spring
but then again I am quite partial to all of them..!

Among the many legendary guitarists, who do you admire the most?
There is not room big enough for my list of guitarists I admire, truly there are so many people that have inspired me it would take a small book to catalog them all… Jimmy Page is where it all started with me, back when I was in junior high still playing Trumpet, French horn and Trombone “it was all over from there!”…just to name a few, as of late I am completely inspired by Stanley Jordan and Doyle Dykes and of course as always the late, great Mr. Ted Greene. (R.I.P)

Who are your favorite classical composers?
Probably J.S Bach, Tchaikovsky and Mozart

If you had the chance to meet anyone in music history, who would it be and why?
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, he just seemed like he was a lot of fun to be around, not to mention one of the most brilliant musicians in world history…

Anything new and/or exciting happening soon for you in 2006?
I am looking forward to mixing a good handful of my demos in the hope of releasing Vol. 1 “Guitar Driven Classics” and if time/budget permits Vol. 2 as well.

Have any plans of performing live in your area?
I do not know if performing live will ever happen, at least not with the “Guitar Driven Classics” stuff…There is really no way to perform this unless it is done Karaoke style, playing to a track and that would only go over for about 2 minutes… There are currently no intentions of joining a band but my goal is to keep recording, build up a nice catalog of “symphonic guitars” and pursue licensing interests.

If anyone is interested, how could they purchase and/or listen to you music?
As it stands, most of my demos are available for “free” download at my site www.dansindel.us perhaps I will make latest Demo CD “Excerpts From Handel’s Messiah” available on my website for a “small donation”.

Any advice for budding guitarists who may be interested in this genre or others?
Keep practicing, don’t give up and try and find your own musical voice. Try not to get too caught up in the competitive aspect of music and most importantly “do not lose the joy of making music”.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Powerful words and very good advice to live by, Fearlessradio.
I would like to thank Dan Sindel for taking time out to do this interview.
Check out his website at
www.dansindel.us or on dmusic at http://dsindel.dmusic.net
click here to view interview at fearlessradio.com

Add to Technorati Favorites
technorati

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

